//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Famous Last Words…not mine though.

“Money can’t buy you life”-Bob Marley

“Is it not Meningitis?”-Louisa May Alcott

“Just don’t leave me alone”-John Belushi

Last words are holders of legacy. It’s such a confusing thought that some sounds we can make with our mouth can end up summing up our entire existence solely due to when those sounds were made.

When I think of all of the things I say on a daily basis, I am baffled to think that any one of them; sarcastic, acidic, non-chalant, loving, or thoughtless could be my last. This is not to say that I think every conversation should end with overly-cheerful platitudes in the event that either you or the other person dies the next day. That would make conversations last about ten times longer than they already do. We already have last tweets and last texts. How would you feel if you choice of last words were either a long and rehearsed soliloquy or snapchat pic?

Even if you are given the option of when your life ends, who is to say you don’t blurt out something weird as you slip into the eternal slumber? You can’t take that chance. So, here is my plan to avoid all of the worrying and sorrow for when that day comes.

Ready? In the end, it won’t matter what you say or how you said it. What matters are the things you said in life to the people around you. Did you tell enough people that you love them? Were you nice to people you didn’t know? Did you make sure to end things on a pleasant note? No?!? Well that’s okay. That’s life. There are a lot of things I have said that I wish I could take back but I can’t. The important thing is that I recognize that, learn from it, move past it, and evolve. There is no sense in dwelling in an old building made of past regrets when the world is full of brand new moments to create every second.

I know that I may not get the chance to say the perfect last words to those I love. But as long as we all say the things that we should, even if they hurt to say, then last words will become a piece of trivia. Instead, you will be remembered for what you did and the kind of person you were. Not the kind of person you wanted to be in those final moments.

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Let me know what you think

