//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Please Visit Kiddnation.com for more information

It’s an odd feeling. Ever since I found out, I have been conflicted internally. The conflict in this case is how to appropriately react to the passing of Kidd Kraddick.

On the one hand, I have spent many mornings listening to the antics of Kidd and the rest of the cast. When he was replaced on a local radio station, I downloaded iheartradio to find a station where I could. I have stifled laughter at my desk while listening to bits that were either too funny to miss or too wacky to have worked in the first place. I have followed along while Kidd took his show format from celebrity gossip to fundraising for his yearly Kidd’s Kids trip.

On the other hand, it’s just a morning show, right? I have never met Kidd or even called into the show. The closest I ever got to ever having him acknowledge my existence was his pressing the like button for one of my comments on his fan page.

So why do I feel this way? Why does my stomach have that cold rock in it? Why does my throat tighten at the thought of listening to the show tomorrow morning, knowing how tough it will undoubtedly be on the rest of the cast?

It’s probably because I am way oversensitive and get heavily invested in things like music, characters, personal stories, and the like. But when I think about Kelli, Big Al, J-Si, and Jenna spending the weekend in New Orleans raising money for the annual Kidd’s Kids trip and suddenly losing their leader and close friend my heart aches for them. It aches for everyone that was lucky enough to have been affected by Kidd’s generosity. It aches for his ex-wife Carol and daughter Caroline. Too good a person to be taken so   soon and so abruptly.

I grieve with them even though Kidd and I were never close, near, or even in the same state. As someone who also has adult adhd, I always felt as though Kidd was a bit of a role model for me. If he could have a long and successful career maybe I could too.

So, while I continue to grieve along with the thousands and thousands of friends, family, and fans of Kidd Kraddick, I hope that everyone considers going to kiddnation.com and donating to the Kidd’s Kids trip to support the cause into which Kidd poured years and years of his life.

And as we all heard at the end of each show…”Keep looking up, because that’s where it all is.”

Rest in Peace Kidd

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Please Visit Kiddnation.com for more information

  1. I totally understand. You almost feel silly crying about it bc you never met him, but then you know him and he’s talked to you every morning for however long. I’ve been listening for 17 years and I’m just so terribly sad. I’ll always remember him, the show and the feeling like they were MINE and my friends and the feeling of attachment I have to them all.

    Posted by lindsaytirvin | July 29, 2013, 10:40 am
    • Exactly. The more I read comments from other listeners, the more I realize that the sentiment is shared by so many.

      I think that is the hallmark of a great entertainer, to make so many people feel like they knew you.

      Posted by jeffartpaul | July 30, 2013, 6:46 pm

Let me know what you think

