//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Antici……pation: New Movies in January 2013

Image

2013 looks to be a pretty good year for the theaters. Here are some of the upcoming films I am anticipating in January.

Click the titles for trailers.

 

January 18th
Mama (Rated PG-13): Directed by Andres Muschietti, this movie is about two little girls found to be living alone in the woods for five years. Their aunt (Jessica Chastain-Zero Dark Thirty, The Help ) and uncle (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau-Game of Thrones) take them in and soon find themselves wondering if they were truly on their own for those five years.

I just watched the trailer for this and it looks super creepy. While it does manage to cling to some dated horror techniques (crab walk, sudden rush at the camera, monster in the closet) at least it is an original concept and not one of several remakes and sequels due out in the next year. I think of this movie like “Nell” on adrenochrome.

 

LUV (Rated R): Co-written and Directed by Sheldon Candis, this film stars Michael Rainey Jr. as Woody, a young boy spends the day with his uncle Vincent (Common -Smokin’ Aces), a recently paroled ex-convict trying to go legit. Along the way, they hit obstacles that make Woody wonder if his uncle is really the role model he should be looking up to.

Common has seriously surprised me in his past roles and interviews. He isn’t just a hip-hop star or a personality, he seems very genuine and looks to be captivating in this role. Also starring in this movie is Danny Glover (Lethal Weapon), Charles S. Dutton (Gothika), and Dennis Haysbert (24). I think this role may be a star maker for both Common and Michael Rainer Jr.

 

January 28th
Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters (Rated PG-13):  Co-written and directed by Tommy Wirkola (Dead Snow), this movie stars Jeremy Renner (The Avengers) and Gemma Arterton (Clash of the Titans) and Hansel and Gretel respectively. This  stylized extension of the Grimm Fairy Tale shows the titular characters as grown-ups on a quest to continue the deed they committed as children when they visited the storied candy house in the woods; killing witches.

The rating of this movie will keep me from seeing it in the theaters as every slack-jawed teenager with their undeserved cell phone will be in attendance. However, I look forward to watching this movie in the comfort of my own home as it looks to be entertaining if not thought-provoking. Sometimes, you just want to see a fun movie and this looks to be one of them.

 

Movie 43 (Rated R): Written and directed by too many people to name (you will want to check this one out for yourself) this movie is a series of hilarious vignettes starring some of Hollywood’s funniest and most famous elite.

I think it is extremely difficult to explain just what this movie is. Think “Valentine’s Day” meets “Not Another Teen Movie” with funding from the screen actors guild.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Antici……pation: New Movies in January 2013

  1. Mama:
    I saw the same preview and while I was interested, but the crabwalk killed it for me. When they did the crabwalk crap in The Ring 2 (which makes utterly no sense since Samara skipped constantly in the first Ring and that was what made her creepy). The crabwalk to me equates to horror gore, but not suspense which is the actual ingredient needed for a horror movie.

    LUV:
    Haven’t seen a trailer but the way you describe it, I think I might wait for it on dvd… I really hate crying in the theater.

    Hansel and Gretel:
    Looks awesome, and I really hate movies that are based on things we all know (mainly because I find them to be really uncreative), but this one plays at what we know and changes it in a thought provoking way. Having once been one of those teenagers, minus the cellphone I support your idea to watch it at home. Admittedly I talked through the entire Lord of the Rings movie and to this day I feel bad about it. I mean what I added to the dialogue was priceless amongst my friends but not so much for anyone past the first row. At this age if I was in the theater with teenage me, I would throw a shoe at myself.

    Movie 43:
    I want so badly for this to be good, but I have very low hopes for star studded movies. Maybe if it is set up like Saturday Night Live with different skits that don’t actually connect it will be successful, for me it is a renter at best… or I might not see it at all and just keep dreaming that it is the masterpiece it promises to be.

    Posted by Sonya | January 9, 2013, 10:49 am
    • See, the crab walk always creeps me out. I blame the exorcist for that.

      I have never cried in a theater and I’m not going to start (well, once during Titanic, but I blame the music). I save the sobbing for my home.

      Hansel and Gretel is totally a pure popcorn movie but it looks fun. I talked all the way through Titanic 3D because I had seen the movie so many times and my ADHD was keeping me from shutting up. I thought my comments were hilarious, turns out I was the only one who agreed.

      Movie 43, I agree. I really want it to be good but I am afraid it might just be too full of non-sequitors to be coherant. Like Kentucky Fried Movie with star power.

      Posted by jeffartpaul | January 9, 2013, 6:55 pm
      • The exorcist did it best. I guess my problem is now it seems fake… when I saw the exorcist I thought that girl was really walking up the stairs like that, that’s what’s scary. Now they are just playing off the familiar, like remember when you were too scared to sleep at night because Satan might somehow take over your body?! Well we have the same scare effect in our movie.

        I try really hard not to cry in movies, but any movie where a kid dies, or animals come back home after being lost for ages I am a puddle.

        HAHAHHA that is awesome. I cannot believe you went to see that in 3D. I think I have seen the movie in its entirety once… and maybe a few times half way through since then. While I enjoyed the movie it wasn’t one I was going to sit through again to watch Jack’s thumb possibly break off in the end because Rose wouldn’t move over on that stupid board.

        Posted by Sonya | January 10, 2013, 10:32 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Antici……pation: New Movies in January 2013 « Jeff Arthur Paul - January 7, 2013

Let me know what you think

